Wayne County lawmakers announce local students receive $7,500 teaching scholarships

Posted by: Lydia Kirschner  | Tuesday, May 12, 2020 9:57 am

STATEHOUSE (May 12, 2020) — Several Wayne County students pursuing a career in education recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Brad Barrett (R-Richmond) and Tom Saunders (R-New Castle).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began as a result of legislation passed in 2016.

"These bright individuals will make great future educators," Barrett said. "Our Wayne County students awarded this scholarship are full of talent, and I look forward to seeing them in Hoosier classrooms one day."

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

"This scholarship is a great opportunity for students studying education," Saunders said. "The program can help decrease the financial strain of college, so these individuals can focus on learning more about teaching and prepare to take on a classroom of their own."

More than 350 students applied and several scholarships were recently awarded to local students:

  • Haley Dickerson, Centerville Sr High School, Ball State University;
  • Kelli Drake, Northeastern High School, Indiana State University;
  • Morgan Ferris, Lincoln Sr High School, Grace College; and
  • Megan Quinn, Richmond High School, Hanover College.

Recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


 State Rep. Brad Barrett (R-Richmond) represents House District 56,

which includes portions of Wayne County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Tom Saunders (R-Lewisville) represents House District 54,

which includes Henry County and portions of Rush and Wayne counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.