Vanderburgh County, local communities eligible for more than $9.7M in pandemic relief

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Wednesday, June 3, 2020

STATEHOUSE (June 3, 2020) – Vanderburgh County and local communities are eligible for more than $9.7 million to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to local legislators.

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. State Rep. Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch) said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"Some communities are suffering more economic consequences than others fighting this virus," Hostettler said. "Local officials have done a great job keeping Hoosiers safe, and this funding can help recoup money spent that wasn't expected."

Vanderburgh County is eligible for $5,871,481 in reimbursement funding, with Darmstadt eligible for $46,329 and Evansville eligible for $3,827,165.

State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) said local towns seeking reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses should coordinate with their county government.

"Receiving these funds will help ease the unexpected expenses our community incurred while responding to the unforeseen impact of the virus," McNamara said. "This isn't something officials could have predicted to budget for, so this money could really help us at the local level."

According to State Rep. Holli Sullivan (R-Evansville), the Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices.

"Local governments are resourceful and looking for any funds available to fight COVID-19," Sullivan said. "This money can help communities recover certain costs as they worked to protect Hoosiers and fight this virus." 

Visit for more information.


State Rep. Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch) represents House District 64,
which includes Gibson County and portions of Knox, Pike, Vanderburgh and Posey counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) represents House District 76, 
which includes portions of Posey and Vanderburgh counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Holli Sullivan (R-Evansville) represents House District 78,
which includes portions of Vanderburgh and Warrick counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.