Vanderburgh County lawmakers announce local recipients of $7,500 teaching scholarship

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Friday, April 24, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 24, 2020) — Several area students pursuing a career in education recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to local legislators.

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) supported.

"Teachers see children at their best and worst, and have to adapt to each of their unique needs," McNamara said. "It's a profession that's not always easy, but can be incredibly rewarding. These students are pursuing a noble career that is challenging and fulfilling."

According to State Rep. Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch), the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

"Indiana has top-performing students who will be giving back to our communities and teaching in our schools," Hostettler said. "When the best and brightest lead the classroom, they can have a significant impact on helping younger generations succeed."

More than 350 students applied, with several scholarships recently awarded to students in Vanderburgh County:

  • Kiernan Bittner, Gibson Southern High School, University of Southern Indiana;
  • Alyssa Hooten, Central High School, Indiana State University;
  • Kira Johnson, Evansville Christian School Newburgh, University of Evansville;
  • Katelyn Skinner, North High School, University of Indianapolis; and
  • Evan Smith, North High School, Ball State University.

State Rep. Holli Sullivan (R-Evansville) said recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

"Teachers are vital to the success of our community and state," Sullivan said. "These scholarship recipients are hardworking and talented, and we will benefit from having them in Hoosier classrooms, passing on their passion for knowledge."

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch) represents House District 64,
which includes Gibson County and portions of Knox, Pike, Vanderburgh and Posey counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo. 

State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) represents House District 76, 
which includes portions of Posey and Vanderburgh counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Holli Sullivan (R-Evansville) represents House District 78,
which includes portions of Vanderburgh and Warrick counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.