Teacher tax credit agenda bill passes House and moves into the Senate

Posted by: Kathryn Frakes  | Tuesday, February 17, 2015

STATEHOUSE—State Representative Ben Smaltz (R-Auburn) authored legislation that would provide teachers with a tax credit for purchasing school supplies, up to $200. House Bill (HB) 1005, co-authored by State Reps. Martin Carbaugh (R-Fort Wayne) and Matt Ubelhor (R-Bloomfield) passed out of the House unanimously and has moved to the Senate.

“It is time we recognize that teachers are personally subsidizing the educational experience by purchasing classroom supplies,” said Rep. Smaltz. “This credit bypasses the funding formula and is delivered directly to every classroom across the state.”

According to Internal Revenue Service data, school teachers spent at least $200 each on classroom supplies in 2012. HB 1005, a House Republican agenda bill, would provide each teacher with up to a $200 tax credit against their adjusted gross income liability for purchasing classroom supplies.

“For too long, teachers have been spending their hard-earned dollars on classroom supplies, which is money that should be going to their families,” said Rep. Ubelhor. “House Bill 1005 is one way we can give back to those who work so hard to educate the future leaders of Indiana, and I am proud that education continues to be one of our top priorities this session.”

“Every year, teachers go above and beyond to ensure Hoosier students can learn in the most conducive academic environment possible,” said Rep. Carbaugh. “I think it is important we give back to our educators for the effort and dedication they put forth every day.”

HB 1005 passed out of the House with a vote of 94-0 and will now be considered by the Senate for further discussion and debate. Visit iga.in.gov for more information about HB 1005.


Rep. Ben Smaltz (R-Auburn) represents all of DeKalb County and portions of Steuben and Allen counties. He serves as Chairman of the Interim Study Committee on Commerce and Economic Development.

Rep. Ubelhor (R-Bloomfield) represents the majority of Greene County and portions of Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties. He serves as a member of the Ways and Means, Public Policy and the Natural Resources committees.

Rep. Martin Carbaugh (R-Fort Wayne) represents a portion of Allen County. He serves as Vice Chairman of the Insurance Committee. He also serves on the Employment, Labor and Pensions Committee and the Veterans Affairs and Public Safety Committee.