State Rep. Pressel encourages local communities to apply for road funding grants

Community Crossings grant application deadline is Oct. 23

Posted by: Josh DeFonce  | Thursday, October 8, 2020 2:00 pm

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 8, 2020) – State Rep. Jim Pressel (R-Rolling Prairie) encourages communities in Northwest Indiana to apply for the Community Crossings Matching Grant Program to help fund local road and bridge projects.

Community Crossings Matching Grants, created through a 2016 law championed by House Republicans, help cities, towns and counties fund local infrastructure projects through preservation, road construction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage.

"The quality of our roads and bridges directly impacts Indiana's economy, and that's why it's important to invest and prioritize maintenance and improvements," Pressel said. "Motorists and businesses alike rely on our infrastructure to be functional and safe, and funds from the Community Crossings program give local governments the financial support to help accomplish this."

According to Pressel, Hoosier communities are eligible for a state match up to $1 million annually and the Indiana Department of Transportation opens applications twice a year. Due to COVID-19, this year’s second round of calls for projects was postponed in July, but Gov. Eric Holcomb recently announced that the matching grant program will resume and the new application deadline is Oct. 23.

Counties with fewer than 50,000 residents and cities and towns with less than 10,000 residents contribute 25% of the matching funds, with larger communities contributing 50%. To be eligible, all local units of government must have an approved Asset Management Plan and provide a funding match.

Since the program's inception, $739 million has been awarded to support Hoosier communities and infrastructure projects around the state. Local governments can apply for the program online at, with forms due by 5 p.m. EST on Oct. 23. 


State Rep. Jim Pressel (R-Rolling Prairie) represents House District 20,
which includes portions of LaPorte and Starke counties.
 here to download a high-resolution photo.