State awards over $2.8 million to boost St. Joseph County road projects

Posted by: Allison Vanatsky  | Monday, April 20, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 20, 2020) – Local communities were recently awarded over $2.8 million in state matching grants to bolster road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) and Tim Wesco (R-Osceola).

Over 200 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of $126.5 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law passed in 2017.

"Since the Community Crossings program launched, roads and bridges throughout the state have seen a great deal of improvements," DeVon said. "Hoosiers rely heavily on our local infrastructure for work and leisure travel, so having a well-maintained framework is essential."

St. Joseph County received $1 million for local road projects. In addition, several communities received matching grants:

  • New Carlisle $693,277;
  • Osceola $159,429; and
  • South Bend $1 million.

Wesco said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

"While we continue to update our roads and bridges, we also need to consider our state's rural areas," Wesco said. "These communities have fewer residents and therefore may need more assistance to make these important infrastructure upgrades."

In total, more than $738 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

An estimated $100 million will be available for communities opting to apply for these grants during the July 2020 call for projects. More information about the program and recipients can be found at


State Rep. Dale DeVon (R-Granger) represents House District 5, which includes portions of St. Joseph County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Tim Wesco (R-Osceola) represents House District 21, which includes portions of Elkhart and St. Joseph counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.