State awards over $1.2 million to boost Starke County road projects

Posted by: Allison Vanatsky  | Thursday, April 9, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 9, 2020) – Local communities were recently awarded over $1.2 million in state matching grants to bolster road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Doug Gutwein (R-Francesville) and Jim Pressel (R-Rolling Prairie).

Over 200 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of $126.5 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law Gutwein and Pressel supported in 2017.

"Roads and bridges play an essential role in supporting and growing Indiana's economy," Pressel said. "The funds from the Community Crossings grant will allow local governments to improve the safety and functionality of this critical infrastructure, which all Hoosiers rely on."

Starke County received $1 million for local road projects. In addition, several communities Hamlet received $148,185 and North Judson received $147,075 in matching grants.

Pressel said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

“So many of our rural communities could not complete much-needed road projects without these state matching dollars,” Gutwein said. “The Community Crossings program is a vital resource that evens the playing the field so small towns don't get left behind.”

In total, more than $738 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

An estimated $100 million will be available for communities opting to apply for these grants during the July 2020 call for projects. More information about the program and recipients can be found at


State Rep. Douglas Gutwein (R-Francesville) represents House District 16, which includes all of Pulaski County and portions of Fulton, Jasper, Newton and Starke counties.
here for a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Jim Pressel (R-Rolling Prairie) represents House District 20, which includes portions of LaPorte and Starke counties.
here for a high-resolution photo.