Sprunica Elementary School Recognized by General Assembly

Posted by: Kathryn Frakes  | Thursday, April 2, 2015

STATEHOUSE –Sprunica Elementary School, along with eight other Indiana schools who received the National Blue Ribbon Award, was honored by the Indiana General Assembly through House Concurrent Resolution 59, authored by State Representative Eric Koch (R-Bedford).

“I was pleased to bring this resolution honoring Sprunica Elementary Schools and the eight other Hoosier schools who received this prestigious award,” said Rep. Koch.oosiersHos

Since 1982, exemplary schools across the nation have been awarded with the esteemed National Blue Ribbon. Public and private elementary, middle and high schools are awarded for high academic achievement, and every year, schools are celebrated by the United States Department of Education for this outstanding accomplishment.

“I congratulate Principal Abbie Oliver and the teachers, staff, parents and students at Sprunica for being a shining example of outstanding public education in Indiana,” said Rep. Koch.

Other Indiana schools receiving the award included Cedarville Elementary School in Fort Wayne, East Elementary School in Portland, Frank H. Hammond Elementary School in Munster, Hamilton Southeastern Junior High School in Fishers, Jackson Township Elementary in Brazil, Merle Sidener Gifted Academy in Indianapolis, St. Patrick School in Chesterton and Signature School in Evansville.

Visit iga.in.gov for more information about the resolution.


Rep. Koch (R-Bedford) represents all of Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.