Spencer County lawmakers receive summer study committee appointments

Posted by: Adam Aasen  | Wednesday, July 7, 2021

STATEHOUSE (July 7, 2021) – Spencer County legislators recently received appointments to serve on interim study committees.

Throughout the summer and fall, Indiana state legislators serve on interim study committees where they work on policy, examine top issues, gather testimony and recommend legislation ahead of the legislative session kicking off in January.

State Rep. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty) will serve as a member of the Interim Study Committee on Public Policy and the Orange County Development Advisory Board.

"This summer we will look at occupational licensing policies, especially as it relates to those with out-of-state licenses who come to Indiana and need to work," Bartels said. "Lifting some of the license restrictions during the pandemic helped the already strained health-care field mitigate the impacts of COVID-19, and this committee will explore how these temporary changes effected the economy and job market."

State Rep. Cindy Ledbetter (R-Newburgh) was appointed to the Low Barrier Homeless Task Force, which was formed this session through a law sponsored by Ledbetter.

"This is an issue near and dear to my heart, and I am honored to be appointed to this new task force," Ledbetter said. "At one point in my life I was homeless, so I personally understand the daily struggles that so many go through and the challenges they face. Homelessness involves many factors, including employment opportunities, affordable housing, and access to mental health and addiction resources. I look forward to working hard on this task force and finding solutions."

Members of the public are welcomed to attend and testify at committee hearings, which typically occur at the Statehouse in Indianapolis. Hearings are also livestreamed and archived online at iga.in.gov, where committee calendars and meeting agendas are posted.

To learn more about the topics state legislators will be examining in the coming months, visit iga.in.gov.



State Rep. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty) represents House District 75, 
which includes portions of Spencer, Dubois, Perry, Crawford and Orange counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Cindy Ledbetter (R-Newburgh) represents House District 75, 
which includes portions of Pike, Spencer and Warrick counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.