Southwest Indiana legislators: State awards nearly $450K to help drive local road projects

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Thursday, May 6, 2021

STATEHOUSE (May 6, 2021) – Vanderburgh County and the town of Darmstadt were recently awarded a total of $448,628 in state matching grants to local communities for road and bridge improvements, according to local lawmakers.

"Over the last several years, Vanderburgh County has made roads a top priority, and this investment in our infrastructure is paying off with more regional projects coming our way," said State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville). "With these additional funds, Southwest Indiana is living up to its reputation as a central hub for business, transportation and a thriving place to live."

Through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, 218 Hoosier cities, towns and counties received a combined total of over $100 million. This program was established in 2016 and expanded a year later in 2017 through laws McNamara supported. The Indiana Department of Transportation oversees and distributes these grants twice each year.

According to State Rep. Matt Hostettler (R-Patoka), Vanderburgh County received $255,263, and Darmstadt received $193,365.

Hostettler said communities can use these funds for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"Our roads face significant wear and tear that requires continuous upkeep," Hostettler said. "Local governments can use these funds to invest taxpayer dollars in much-needed road and bridge projects."

State Rep. Tim O'Brien (R-Evansville) said state law requires that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded annually to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

"Indiana is a great place to call home, and with more than $931 million awarded to communities throughout the state since the grant's beginning, there's no mystery why we're ranked at the top in the nation for infrastructure," O'Brien said. "This announcement is a win for Hoosiers, as cities and towns are able to cross important projects off their lists."

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at The next call for projects through Community Crossings will open in July 2021.


State Rep. Matt Hostettler (R-Patoka) represents House District 64,
which includes Gibson County and portions of Knox, Pike, Vanderburgh and Posey counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) represents House District 76, 
which includes portions of Posey and Vanderburgh counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Tim O'Brien (R-Evansville) represents House District 78,
which includes portions of Vanderburgh and Warrick counties.
 here to download a high-resolution photo.