Smaltz, Zent: Hoosiers age 65 and older now eligible for free COVID-19 vaccine

Posted by: Jake Thompson  | Monday, February 1, 2021

STATEHOUSE (Feb. 1, 2021) – Indiana residents age 65 and older are now eligible to register for a free COVID-19 vaccine, according to State Reps. Ben Smaltz (R-Auburn) and Denny Zent (R-Angola).

Smaltz said older Hoosiers can register for the vaccine by visiting and finding a nearby vaccine clinic and selecting an appointment time. Those who do not have access to a computer can call 211 to register from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily, including weekends. Caregivers or loved ones may make an appointment for an eligible senior. 

"Eligible Hoosiers wanting to be vaccinated should take time to register soon as spots are filling up quickly," Smaltz said. "This is a personal decision, and I suggest consulting your physician with any questions or concerns about how the vaccine can stop the spread while also helping you avoid contracting COVID-19."

This vaccine is administered in two doses, 21-28 days apart, and is available at no cost. At the first appointment, Hoosiers will be required to schedule a time for their second dose. Individuals must bring their photo ID to the appointment.

According to Zent, individuals may encounter wait times when registering due to a high volume of interest. The Indiana Department of Health encourages those eligible to be patient or to check back later in the day.

"As soon as I was eligible, I received my vaccine," said Zent, a former health care provider. "This is one of the best tools Hoosiers can use to protect themselves and stop the transmission of COVID-19"

Zent said there will be a minimum of one vaccine clinic located in each county. Hoosier first responders and health care workers are also now eligible to register for a COVID-19 vaccine at no cost. Eligible professionals should receive an invitation and registration link from their employer, professional association or the state.

Visit for more information on eligibility requirements and registration.


State Rep. Ben Smaltz (R-Auburn) represents House District 52, which

includes all of DeKalb County, and portions of Steuben and Allen counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Denny Zent (R-Angola) represents House District 51,

which includes most of LaGrange and Steuben counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.