Reps. Ellington, Lindauer: Martin County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Wednesday, June 10, 2020

STATEHOUSE (June 10, 2020) – Martin County and local communities are eligible for more than $450,000 to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to State Reps. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) and Shane Lindauer (R-Jasper).

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Ellington said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"We haven't fought this virus without suffering economic consequences," Ellington said. "So many local officials have worked tirelessly to keep Hoosiers safe, and I'm grateful this funding is available to help them through this crisis."

Martin County is eligible for $331,478 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these local communities are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Crane $5,774;
  • Loogootee $88,247; and
  • Shoals $25,403.

Lindauer said local townships seeking reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses should coordinate with their county government.

"It takes everyone, working together, to beat this virus," Lindauer said. "Hoosiers are doing all they can to keep each other healthy, including our cities, towns and counties, and these funds will go a long way to help local communities cover COVID-19-related expenses."

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Shane Lindauer (R- Jasper) represents House District 63,
which includes portions of Daviess, Dubois, Pike and Martin counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.