Reps. Burton, Young receive committee assignments

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Monday, December 10, 2018 11:37 am

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 10, 2018) – State Reps. Woody Burton (R-Whiteland) and John Yong (R-Franklin) were recently appointed to several House standing committees.

Burton will once again chair the House Financial Institutions Committee, and serve as a member of the House Education Committee and the House Judiciary Committee.

“As a public servant, I have a passion for helping others,” Burton said. “Over the last several years, I have focused on ensuring Hoosiers have access to safe finance options and high-quality education opportunities. Through these committees, I am able to continue working directly with people from across the state to find solutions on these topics, and make Indiana the best place to live, work and raise a family.”

Young was appointed to serve as vice chair of the House Judiciary Committee, and he was also reappointed to serve on the House Courts and Criminal Code Committee, and the House Statutory Committee on Interstate and International Cooperation. Young was newly assigned to the House Family, Children and Human Affairs Committee.

“Each committee serves as a starting point in the legislative process, and legislators can hear from members of the public, experts and other lawmakers on the bills being considered,” Young said. “With my experience as an attorney and my role on both the judiciary and courts committees, I will be able to provide insight on how different pieces of legislation could impact the court systems on a daily basis.”

Standing committee assignments are made biennially after each election. On Jan. 3, House lawmakers will convene at 1:30 p.m. in the House Chamber for the first day of the 2019 legislative session.

Standing committee hearings, which typically occur at the Statehouse in Indianapolis, can be viewed live online at This site also provides committee calendars and meeting agendas.

Click here to download the complete list of committee appointments.


State Rep. Woody Burton (R-Whiteland) represents House District 58,

which includes a portion of Johnson County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,

which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.