Reps. Bartels, Lindauer receive leadership positions, committee assignments

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Monday, December 14, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 14, 2020) – State Reps. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty) and Shane Lindauer (R-Jasper) were recently appointed to key leadership positions and several House standing committees.

Bartels was named assistant majority whip. He was also reappointed to serve as a member of the House Courts and Criminal Code Committee and House Veterans Affairs and Public Safety Committee, and newly appointed to the House Public Policy Committee.

"It's an honor the Speaker of the House asked me to serve as the new assistant majority whip," Bartels said. "I will definitely lean on my background as a former law enforcement officer and as a veteran to help me on these committees and tackle issues important to our area."

Lindauer was named assistant majority floor leader and will assist the majority floor leader and work closely with his fellow caucus members on legislative priorities.

"Being assigned this new role within House Republican leadership means greater representation for all of the residents of House District 63," Lindauer said. "Indiana is great place to call home, and I will continue working to move our state in the right direction and advocate for Hoosiers in Southern Indiana."

Lindauer was also appointed to serve as vice chair of the House Roads and Transportation Committee, and he was also reappointed to serve on the House Natural Resources Committee.

House standing committees will meet throughout the legislative session, which is scheduled to kick off Jan. 4.

Access committee hearings, calendars and agendas online at Visit or click here for the full list of House standing committee appointments.


State Rep. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty) represents House District 74,
which includes portions of Spencer, Dubois, Perry, Crawford and Orange counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Shane Lindauer (R- Jasper) represents House District 63,
which includes portions of Daviess, Dubois, Pike and Martin counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.