Reps. Baird, Brown, Morrison, Negele: Area farms honored at State Fair

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Thursday, August 15, 2019

STATEHOUSE (Aug. 15, 2019) – Area legislators recently announced the latest recipients of the Hoosier Homestead Award, which recognizes farms that have been owned and maintained by the same family for 100 years or more.

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program honors families that have made significant contributions to Indiana agriculture. The program, instituted in 1976, recognizes the impact these family farms have made to the economic, cultural and social advancements of Indiana. In the past 40 years, more than 5,500 farms have received the honor.

Represented by State Sen. Phil Boots (R-Crawfordsville) and State Reps. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle), Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville), Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) and Sharon Negele (R-Attica), six locally owned farms were honored at the Indiana State Fair with Centennial Awards:

“The agriculture industry has evolved tremendously over the last 100 years, from plowing fields with mules to using massive machinery,” Boots said. “The work that goes into managing a farm isn’t easy. I congratulate all of the farm families who have withstood the test of time and passed down farming traditions throughout the years.”

“With so many farmers struggling through a difficult planting season this year, due to heavy rains and flooding in the spring, it’s important now more than ever for Hoosiers to support our agriculture industry,” Baird said. “These family farms deserve our praise and recognition for enduring every season for the past 100 years.”

“Farming is truly a family affair,” Brown said. “Even if you aren’t the one driving the tractor, your loved ones could be gone most of day while planting, dinners missed when it’s time to harvest, vacations sacrificed due to unpredictable weather. Each of us benefit from the dedication of these longstanding Hoosier farming families, and we owe them a great debt of gratitude.” 

“With 96 percent of Hoosier farms family-owned or operated, it’s imperative for our state economy that we continue to support operations like these,” Morrison said. “Their hard work and commitment have made Indiana one of the largest farming states in the country.”

“It takes a great deal of determination and perseverance to maintain a farm for so long,” Negele said. “These families have worked hard and made many sacrifices over the years. Our community thanks them for their incredible commitment to our area and the state.”

To be named a Hoosier Homestead, farms must be owned by the same family for at least 100 consecutive years and consist of more than 20 acres or produce more than $1,000 of agricultural products per year. The award distinctions are Centennial, Sesquicentennial and Bicentennial – for 100, 150 and 200 years respectively.

Two Hoosier Homestead award ceremonies are held each year – one at the Statehouse in March and one at the State Fair in August. To learn more about the program or to apply for a Hoosier Homestead award, visit


High-resolution photos of the award recipients can be found by visiting
or by clicking on the farm’s name above.
Note: Not all award recipients attended the ceremony at the fairgrounds


State Sen. Phil Boots (R-Crawfordsville) represents Senate District 23,
which includes all of Fountain, Montgomery, Parke, Vermillion,
and Warren counties and a portion of Boone County. 


State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) represents House District 44, which includes 
all of Putnam County and portions of Clay, Morgan, Owen and Parke counties.


State Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) represents House District 41,
which includes portions of Boone, Montgomery and Tippecanoe counties.


State Rep. Alan Morrison (R-Brazil) represents House District 42, 
which includes all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay, 
Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties.


State Rep. Sharon Negele (R-Attica) represents House District 13, 
which includes all of Benton County, and portions of Fountain, Jasper, 
Montgomery, Newton, Tippecanoe, Warren and White counties.