Reps. Bacon, Bartels: Spencer County, local communities eligible for pandemic relief funds

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Tuesday, May 26, 2020

STATEHOUSE (May 26, 2020) – Spencer County and local communities are eligible for more than $915,000 to cover COVID-19-related expenses through the federal stimulus package, according to State Reps. Ron Bacon (R-Chandler) and Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty).

Indiana allocated $300 million in federal funding from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economics Security Act to counties and communities for reimbursement of expenditures related to the pandemic. Bacon said the funding, allocated based on population, cannot be used to replace lost tax revenue.

"Indiana is working diligently to reopen in a safe and responsible manner," Bacon said. "This means our local communities need to invest in resources to combat this virus, and these funds can help offset expenses we might have racked up."

Spencer County is eligible for $659,484 in reimbursement funding. In addition, these local communities are eligible to receive the following amounts:

  • Chrisney $15,313;
  • Dale $48,503;
  • Gentryville $8,467;
  • Grandview $23,067;
  • Richland $13,074;
  • Rockport $69,851; and
  • Santa Claus $78,189.

Bartels said local townships seeking reimbursement for eligible COVID-19 expenses should coordinate with their county government.

"Every community is affected by the virus, but we are not letting it get the best of us," Bartels said. "We are working together to protect all Hoosiers, especially our most vulnerable. These funds could help cover many unexpected expenses, including buying PPE for our local responders."

The Indiana Finance Authority is in charge of implementing guidelines on how each county, city and town can use the funding, as well as compiling reimbursement requests through accepted documentation including invoices. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Ron Bacon (R-Chandler) represents House District 75, 
which includes portions of Warrick, Pike and Spencer counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty) represents House District 74,
which includes portions of Spencer, Dubois, Perry, Crawford and Orange counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.