Rep. Smaltz named 'Legislator of the Year' by the Indiana Association of Cities and Towns

Posted by: Zach Weismiller  | Tuesday, September 29, 2015

STATEHOUSE — State Representative Ben Smaltz (R-Auburn) was named Legislator of the Year by the Indiana Association of Cities and Towns (IACT). The award was presented during the 2015 IACT Annual Conference and Exhibition in French Lick.

Founded in 1891, IACT is one of the oldest state municipal organizations in the country. With 470 cities and towns as members, IACT is the official advocate of municipal government in Indiana and promotes good governance through education, training and leadership.

“I am honored to receive the 2015 IACT Legislator of the Year award," said Rep. Smaltz. "As a state legislator, I will continue to advocate for policies that allow state and local government to operate more efficiently and effectively. I look forward to working closely with IACT as we approach the start of the 2016 legislative session.”

In the 2015 session, Rep. Smaltz authored House Enrolled Act 1603, which requires that cities and towns be notified of potential tax refunds that they would need to factor into their budgets. This law also allows cities and towns to establish a fund to pay tax refunds over assessments without negatively impacting communities in the middle of a budget year.

“Representative Smaltz’s strong understanding of the municipal finance structure and the challenges that go along with it was tremendously helpful this past legislative session. Most importantly, he recognized some common sense changes to the assessment appeal process and worked hard to give cities and towns a chance to engage in the process and put money aside to fund successful petitions,” said IACT Executive Director and CEO Matt Greller.

IACT’s Board of Directors voted on the award during a board meeting in July. This is the fifth year the organization has presented a Legislator of the Year Award.


Rep. Ben Smaltz (R-Auburn) represents all of DeKalb County and portions of Steuben and Allen counties.