Rep. Smaltz: House passes legislation to combat Indiana's growing number of meth labs

Posted by: Zach Weismiller  | Monday, February 29, 2016

STATEHOUSE (Feb. 29, 2016) — The House of Representatives voted today in support of a proposal sponsored by State Rep. Ben Smaltz (R-Auburn) that would make it more difficult for criminals to manufacture meth.

With more than 1,500 incidents in 2015, Indiana has led the nation in meth-lab seizures for three consecutive years.

“This proposal would carefully balance consumer access with common sense measures to keep pseudoephedrine out of the hands of meth cooks,” Smaltz said. “Law-abiding Hoosiers would still be able to obtain the medication they need to fight their symptoms. By utilizing the professional knowledge of pharmacists, this bill would make purchasing large amounts of pseudoephedrine for the purpose of making meth or selling to meth cooks considerably more difficult.”

Pseudoephedrine (PSE) is a key ingredient used in the production of meth and often found in a small number of cold, flu and allergy medications. Senate Bill 80 would allow Hoosiers who have a patient relationship with a pharmacy to continue to obtain PSE without a prescription. If a purchaser does not have a patient relationship, the bill would give pharmacists the option to sell them tamper-resistant products or a package of 24-count 30mg regular PSE. If the purchaser still refuses and demands regular PSE, the bill would require them to obtain a prescription.

Smaltz said medications containing tamper-resistant PSE work the exact same as regular PSE. These products negatively impact the production of meth by limiting the extraction of PSE, and are widely available to Hoosiers at a similar price.

Visit for more information on Senate Bill 80. 


State Rep. Ben Smaltz (R-Auburn) serves as the Chairman of the Commerce, Small Business and Economic Development Committee. He also serves on the Public Policy Committee, Roads and Transportation Committee and the Committee on Joint Rules.  Rep. Smaltz represents all of DeKalb County and portions of Steuben and Allen counties.