Rep. Mayfield congratulates local families on long-standing farms

Posted by: Courtney Scott  | Monday, March 9, 2015

STATEHOUSE — State Representative Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) congratulates three local families for receiving the Hoosier Homestead Award. The awards were presented by Lt. Gov. Sue Ellspermann at the Indiana Statehouse.

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes farming families who have owned and operated the same farm for 100 years or more. Families who have owned a farm for 100 years were presented with centennial awards, while those with 150 and 200 years of ownership were presented with sesquicentennial and bicentennial awards.

Local families that received Hoosier Homestead Awards include:

The Richard A. Abraham Farm, located in Morgan County, has been operated since 1847 and received the sesquicentennial award.
The Hanna Farm, located in Morgan County, has two separate locations which have been operated since 1906 and 1908. Both farms received the centennial award.
The Albert J. Voyles Farm, located in Morgan County, has been operated since 1828 and received the sesquicentennial award.

“Farming is an essential part of the Hoosier economy,” said Rep. Mayfield. “These farms have been an integral part of our community and have successfully weathered the challenges inherent to farming.  I am thankful that these families have chosen to build their legacies in Morgan County, and I wish them bountiful harvests for years to come.”

The program was established in 1976 to acknowledge the contributions made by these farming families to Indiana’s economy, reputation and overall advancement. Since its inauguration, the program has recognized more than 5,000 farms for their dedication to Hoosier agriculture. 

Two awards ceremonies are held each year, in the spring and summer, to commemorate the achievements of the many outstanding Hoosier farmers across the state. For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program, visit