Rep. Mayfield appointed to committees

Posted by: Courtney Scott  | Tuesday, December 4, 2012

STATEHOUSE— House Speaker Brian C. Bosma (R-Indianapolis) announced committee assignments and leadership appointments for the Indiana House Republican Caucus. State Representative Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) was appointed to three committees: Elections and Apportionment, Insurance and Judiciary

“Committees are the backbone of legislation,” said Rep. Mayfield. “Hearing insights from both experts and constituents shapes legislation to specifically address critical areas of concern. I am eager to begin my responsibilities to serve Hoosiers in these capacities.

Committee chairmen and caucus leaders are selected biennially by the majority party after each election year.

“I am confident in the abilities of each of these leaders, and I know that they are each eager to begin their committee work and their leadership roles,” said Speaker Bosma.

Standing committees are an integral part of the legislative process. Committees with specific expertise receive public testimony and work out the details of proposed legislation before it is heard on the House floor.