Rep. May sponsors bill addressing Brown County board

Posted by: Peter Hoffman and Abigail Campbell  | Tuesday, March 28, 2017

STATEHOUSE (March 28, 2017) – The Indiana House of Representatives passed a bill Tuesday that would address Brown County’s Solid Waste Management District board member assignment issue, according to the bill’s sponsor State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford).

Senate Bill 300 would amend a mandate in Indiana law requiring that one of the seats on a solid waste district board be appointed by a municipality that is not the largest in the county. Brown County is unique in this situation, as it is the only county in the state with just one municipality: Nashville.

“This legislation resolves a requirement in state law that Brown County is technically unable to meet,” May said. “It codifies the current arrangement to fill the seat on the Brown County Solid Waste Management District Board, which replaces the appointment with a seat representing a conservancy district.”

In the case of counties with only one municipality, the bill specifies the smaller municipality seat must instead be appointed by a conservancy district located entirely within the county with a freeholder resident of that conservancy district.

The Brown County Solid Waste Management District is a government agency that was established in 1991 to serve all of Brown County, including Nashville and Cordry Sweetwater. They work to reduce the amount of recyclable materials going to landfills and educate the public about waste reduction, reuse, and recycling, and to implement programs in these areas.

The bill passed the House of Representatives and Senate and can now be signed into law by the governor.


State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.

A high-resolution photo of May can be downloaded by clicking here.