Rep. Heaton congratulates local family on long-standing farm

Posted by: Kelly Sweeney  | Tuesday, August 5, 2014 8:00 am

STATEHOUSE - State Representative Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) congratulates the Childers family for receiving the Hoosier Homestead Award. The awards were presented by Lt. Gov. Sue Ellspermann in the Farm Bureau Building at the Indiana State Fair.

“I want to extend my sincerest congratulations to the Childers family for all of their hard work; their efforts surely have not gone unnoticed,” said Rep. Heaton. “When it comes to Indiana’s legacy as an agriculture state, families like the Childers are the reason that reputation exists and remains strong.”

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes farming families that have owned and operated the same farm for 100 years or more. Centennial awards were given for 100 years of ownership, while sesquicentennial and bicentennial awards were given for 150 and 200 years of ownership respectively.

The Childers Farm, located in Gosport, has been in operation since 1834. The family received the Sesquicentennial award for over 150 years of ownership.

“This farm, in operation for 180 years, represents the level of dedication and perseverance that our famers possess,” said Rep. Heaton. “West Central Indiana has many rural areas and much of our community is comprised of farmland. Since agriculture is so important to our region, these families are vital to the continued economic prosperity of our community and state.”   

In 1976, the program was first established to acknowledge Indiana’s farming families that have made contributions to the economy, culture and the state’s overall advancement. Since the program’s inception, roughly 5,000 farms have been recognized for their dedication to Hoosier agriculture.

Each year, two award ceremonies are held; one at the Statehouse in February and the other held at the State Fair in August. For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program or to nominate a family for the award, visit


Rep. Heaton represents portions of Clay, Monroe, Owen and Vigo counties.