Rep. Arnold: Keeping our best and brightest teachers in Hoosier classrooms

Posted by: Peter Hoffman  | Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Working to keep high-quality teachers in Indiana is something folks on both sides of the aisle can agree on. Our schools depend on Indiana’s colleges and universities to maintain a pipeline of outstanding teachers. Earlier this year the Indiana House of Representatives passed legislation, which received nearly unanimous bipartisan support, that created a program to keep more teaching graduates right here in the Hoosier State.

The Indiana Commission for Higher Education recently announced the launch of the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship. It is designed to incentivize our best and brightest high school graduates to pursue degrees in teaching and then work in Indiana’s classrooms.

Beginning Nov. 1, both incoming and current college students studying education can apply for the scholarship, which awards up to $7,500 per year toward college costs to those who commit to teaching in Indiana schools for five years after graduating.

The scholarship is available to 200 students statewide each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. While in college, students must maintain a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year to continue receiving the grant. Graduates must obtain their teaching license and teach in Indiana for five consecutive years.

Students interested in applying must be nominated by a teacher and submit their nomination form to the Indiana Commission for Higher Education. Students can visit  for more information and to submit an application before the Dec. 31 deadline.

Through this program, we can both encourage and enable our high-achieving students to enter the teaching field without the fear of heavy college debt. Our communities and classrooms will benefit greatly by keeping our top talent right here in Indiana.

Please contact me with any questions or input at 317-232-9793 or by email at Learn more about the work being done at the Statehouse by signing up to receive my email updates at


State Rep. Lloyd Arnold (R-Leavenworth) represents portions of Spencer, Dubois, Perry, Crawford and Orange counties.

A high-resolution photo of Arnold can be downloaded by clicking here.