[r85] The Best Way to Contact Your Representative (1/28/2009)

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Start Date: 1/28/2009 All Day
End Date: 1/28/2009

There are three ways to interact with your representatives and senators.


  • Call toll free at 1-800-382-9841.  If you phone the statehouse, ask to speak to the representative's legislative assistant.


  •  Write them at the Statehouse, 200 W. Washington St., Indianapolis, IN 46204.
  •   Send them an e-mail. Members of the House have e-mail addresses based on their House district numbers. For example, I serve District 85, so my e-mail address is h85@in.gov.


These are the state representatives for Northeast Indiana:


 Speaker of the House B. Patrick Bauer, District 6 (D-South Bend). Web site: www.in.gov/h6.

  •  Rep. Matt Bell, District 83 (R-Avilla). Web site: www.in.gov/h83.
  •  Rep. Randy Borror, District 84 (R-Fort Wayne). Web site: www.in.gov/h84.
  •  Rep. Bill Davis, District 33 (R-Portland). Web site: www.in.gov/h33.
  •  Rep. Dick Dodge, District 51 (R-Pleasant Lake). Web site: www.in.gov/h51.
  •  Rep. Jeff Espich, District 82 (R-Uniondale). Web site: www.in.gov/h82.
  •  Rep. Phil GiaQuinta, District 80 (D-Fort Wayne). Web site: www.in.gov/h80.
  •  Rep. Matthew Lehman, District 79 (R-Berne). Web site: www.in.gov/h79.
  •  Rep. Dan Leonard, District 50 (R-Huntington). Web site: www.in.gov/h50.
  •  Rep. Winfield Moses, District 81 (D-Fort Wayne). Web site: www.in.gov/h81.
  •  Rep. Phyllis Pond, District 85 (R-New Haven). Web site: www.in.gov/h85.
  •  Rep. Bill Ruppel, District 22 (North Manchester). Web site: www.in.gov/h22.
  •  Rep. David Wolkins, District 18 (R-Winona Lake). Web site: www.in.gov/h18.
  •  Rep. David Yarde, District 52 (R-Garrett). Web site: www.in.gov/h52.


There are 21 committees on which these representatives serve.  Many representatives are members of more than one. Committees are important because before a bill can be amended by the House and or Senate, it first must be approved by the appropriate committee.


The 21 committees are Agriculture and Rural Development; Commerce, Energy and Technology Utilities; Education; Elections and Apportionment; Environmental Affairs; Family, Children and Human Affairs; Financial Institutions; Government and Regulatory Reform; Insurance; Judiciary; Labor and Employment; Local Government; Natural Resources; Public Health; Public Policy; Roads and Transportation; Rules and Legislative Procedures; Small Business and Economic Development; Veterans Affairs and Public Safety; and Ways and Means.


If you want to learn more about Indiana's 116th General Assembly, go online to www.in.gov/legislative, where you can find the legislative calendar, information about bills and resolutions and information about how to stay in touch with your elected official.