[R79] Students receive prestigious award at the Statehouse (4/15/2013)

Monday, April 15, 2013

Start Date: 4/15/2013 Start Time: 12:00 AM
End Date: 4/15/2013 End Time: 11:59 PM

STATEHOUSE – State Representative Matt Lehman (R-Berne) congratulates Sydney Geisler of Ossian and Clayton Selking of Monroeville for receiving the 2013 Comcast Leaders & Achievers Scholarship today. The award recognizes high school seniors for their outstanding leadership skills, high academic performance and participation in community service projects.

“When students receive an honor such as this, it serves as a reminder of what a special young person it takes to maintain strong academics while also serving as a leader in the community,” said Rep. Lehman. “I cannot overstate the importance of having positive role models such as Sydney and Clayton in our community.”

Beginning annually in 2000, Comcast reaches out to high school guidance counselors and principals to recognize the brightest seniors as the nation’s “leaders and achievers.” The award recipients were nominated for their extensive involvement in their schools and participation in various service projects that positively impact their communities.

Since 2001, Comcast has awarded approximately $19 million in scholarship funds to more than 19,000 students across the nation. Geisler and Selking, who attend Norwell High School and Heritage Jr-Sr High School respectively, were two of 49 Hoosier students to receive the $1,000 award. 

“I commend both of these students for all that they have accomplished,” said Rep. Lehman. “I encourage them to continue down this path of success, and I look forward to hearing about their achievements for years to come.”

The awards were presented by First Lady Karen Pence at the Indiana Statehouse.

Visit www.comcast.com for more information on the Comcast Leaders & Achievers Scholarship Program.


Lehman NR Comcast Award 2013.docx