[R76] Rep. McNamara honors New Harmony Faculty & Students (5/22/2012)

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Start Date: 5/22/2012 All Day
End Date: 5/22/2012
Rep. McNamara honors New Harmony Faculty & Students

STATEHOUSE – State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R- Mt. Vernon) honored New Harmony School’s superintendent, school board, teachers and the final graduating class with two House resolutions at New Harmony School. The students and teachers were honored on Super Citizens Day and the school board at the school’s closing ceremony. The resolutions celebrate the school’s commitment to education for two centuries and the Class of 2012’s hard work during their academic careers.

“The resolutions honor the school’s illustrious education history and the faculty and students who have upheld the community’s strong commitment to academic excellence,” said Rep. McNamara. “The New Harmony School has been an integral part of the educational landscape of Indiana, the Unites States and is a forerunner in successful practices throughout its history.”

The New Harmony community pioneered many of the standard practices used in today’s education curriculum. Their foresight led to the first co-education system and the first trade school. The school has a history of excellence documented by the many awards and accolades given to the school, including five four star school rankings, three U.S. News and World Report Best High School designations and continuous school improvement awards.

“It was a pleasure to thank the faculty for playing such a vital role in creating a culture of excellence in education for the students of New Harmony. Their dedication to the students of New Harmony is beyond appreciated and has impacted countless young lives,” said Rep. McNamara. “I wish them happiness and success in all their future endeavors.”

Indiana House Resolution 64 honors principal Douglas Mills, school board president James R. Scarafia, school board vice president Jason J. Wilson, school board secretary Brenda S. Butman, school board members James O. Eagan, Jr. and Curtis R. Schmitt, Superintendent Fran Thoele and the dedicated staff and teachers of New Harmony School.

Indiana House Resolution 68 honors the final graduating class of New Harmony School: Haley Binkley, Abbey Deckard, AJ Eaton, Dylan Kennedy, Jordan Kennedy, Elliott Lange, Vanessa McKinney, Devin Nixon-Davis, Cody Seib, Zachary Sollman, Daniel Tron, and Tyler Evans.

“The members of the final class of the New Harmony School are outstanding representatives of the traditions and accomplishments of this renowned educational institution, and they will be remembered fondly,” said Rep. McNamara. “I am immensely proud of this class and know they will go on to accomplish many great successes.”