[r74] Local facilities receive almost $2 million in grants (9/10/2012)

Monday, September 10, 2012

Start Date: 9/10/2012 Start Time: 9:30 AM
Local communities receive almost $2 million in grants

STATEHOUSE–It was announced by Lt. Gov. Becky Skillman that Dubois, Spencer, and Warrick counties will receive Community Focus Fund (CFF) grants for projects in their communities. State Rep. Sue Ellspermann (R-Ferdinand) represents portions of each county, which will receive $500,000 for a wastewater project and $400,000 for historic preservation; $500,000 for a wastewater project; and $500,000 for a wastewater project, respectively.

“I’m very pleased that our communities will receive these funds,” said Rep. Ellspermann. “A properly functioning water facility is vital to our daily life. The funds are also going towards historic preservation which allows us to hold onto our invaluable ties to the past for future generations to come. 

“I look forward to seeing the enhancements and benefits these grants will provide to all residents in these communities.” 

The grants are part of the 16th round of CFF grants announced by Lt. Gov. Skillman, which are funded by the federal Community Development Block Grant program. Thirty-eight Hoosier communities will receive CFF grants, totaling over $16 million in community investment. 

The grants assist smaller cities and towns in Indiana with long term development initiatives. The types of projects funded by these grant dollars include: sewer upgrades, new fire trucks, libraries and community centers.

“The CFF program provides an opportunity for our rural areas to achieve goals they otherwise may not be able to,” said Lt. Gov. Skillman. “The fruition of the various projects will give each community a boost in a variety of ways from economic development to safety to infrastructure.”

The grants are administered by the Office of Community and Rural Affairs (OCRA), which also provides technical assistance to community leaders during the 18-month implementation of their CFF projects.

Lt. Gov. Skillman will host an awards ceremony at the Indiana Statehouse on Sept. 21 at 1 p.m. to honor the grant recipients.


Rep. Ellspermann, Local facilities receive almost $2 million in grants, 9-10-12.docx