[r46] Rep. Heaton congratulates Terre Haute area art award recipients (10/4/2011)

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Start Date: 10/4/2011 All Day
End Date: 10/4/2011
STATEHOUSE— State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) and the Indiana Grant Commission recently presented the Indiana Arts Commission’s Grant Awards. The Indiana Arts Commission presented various fine arts organizations with grants to aid in expanding the arts.

“Congratulations to all the grant award recipients,” said Rep. Bob Heaton. “I know this money will be used to the fullest and will help to further educate students, individuals and communities in the fine arts.”

The Indiana Arts Commission advocates engagement with the arts to enrich the quality of individual and community life. The Arts Commission encourages the presence of the arts in communities of all sizes while promoting artistic quality and expression.

The 2011-2012 Regional Initiative Grant recipients include Terre Haute Symphony Orchestra, Swope Art Museum, Arts Spaces, Inc., Community Theatre of Clay County, Community Theatre of Terre Haute, Putnam County Playhouse, Terre Haute Children’s Choir, Terre Haute Community Band, Crossroads Repertory Theatre, Indiana State University Art Gallery, Indiana State University School of Music, Park County, Inc., Putnam County Museum, Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College Rooney Library, Saint Mary-of-the-Woods Theatre Department. The 2011-2012 Indiana Arts Commission Individual Artist Grant Recipient went to Matthew Brennan, PhD.

“I applaud the efforts of each of these organizations in continuing to advocate for the arts and to further develop programs and initiatives in their area,” said Rep. Heaton. “Artistic leadership among Hoosiers is important in our education system and for our quality of life in Indiana.”

To learn about the grants offered by the state of Indiana or apply for future grants, please visit: http://www.in.gov/arts/onlineapplications&reports.htm


Heaton NR - Arts Commission Ceremony.docx