Over $2.2M to fuel Boone County road projects

Posted by: Courtney Heiden  | Friday, October 11, 2019

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 11, 2019) – More than $2.2 million in state matching grants will be awarded throughout Boone County to accelerate local road and bridge improvements, according to area legislators.

This local funding is part of the nearly $100 million recently awarded to Indiana cities, towns and counties through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program. Now in its fourth year, State Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) co-authored the law establishing the program, with State Reps. Donna Schaibley (R-Carmel) and Jeff Thompson (R-Lizton) voting for the comprehensive road funding plan.

Brown said the grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation and funded through the state budget.

“With Indiana’s strong economy and a careful eye on the state budget, this program is thriving and paying off for communities large and small,” Brown said. “In fact, $3 billion has been dedicated to road and bridge projects across the state since 2017, and I don’t see things slowing down anytime soon.”

As part of the program, Boone County received $425,027 for local road projects, with several communities within the county also awarded grants, including:

  • Lebanon, $997,327;
  • Thorntown, $253,953; and
  • Whitestown, $528,222.

“Our roads help drive our state’s economy, which is why it is encouraging to see so much investment poured into our local infrastructure needs,” Schaibley said.

Thompson said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

“Maintaining our roads and bridges is costly, but essential,” Thompson said. “A program like Community Crossings can help the state’s smaller communities that may not be able to pay for these improvements alone.”

More information about the program and recipients can be found at www.in.gov/indot.


State Rep. Tim Brown (R-Crawfordsville) represents House District 41, which includes portions of Boone, Montgomery and Tippecanoe counties.

State Rep. Donna Schaibley (R-Carmel) represents House District 24, which includes portions of Boone and Hamilton counties.

State Rep. Jeff Thompson (R-Lizton) represents House District 28, which includes portions of Hendricks and Boone counties.