Over $1.4M to fuel Posey County road projects

Posted by: Adam Kern  | Friday, October 11, 2019 1:00 pm

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 11, 2019) – Local communities were recently awarded over $1.4 million in state matching grants to accelerate road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) and Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch).

Nearly $100 million was awarded to Indiana cities, towns and counties through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which is now in its fourth year. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law passed in 2016, and funded through the state budget.

“This program demonstrates how our state and local communities can work together on behalf of all Hoosiers,” McNamara said. “Roads and bridges connect us, and this investment will go a long way toward keeping our infrastructure in good condition.”

As part of the program several communities in Posey County were awarded grants, including:

  • Mount Vernon, $628,665;
  • New Harmony, $143,427; and
  • Poseyville, $697,886.

“Programs like Community Crossings are a win-win for our community and state,” Hostettler said. “With Indiana’s constantly changing weather, we have to work hard to keep up the maintenance on our roads and bridges, while also building for the future.”

Hostettler said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

Since 2017, state road investment is up 50% as Indiana has dedicated $3 billion to road and bridge projects across the state.

More information about the program and recipients can be found at www.in.gov/indot.


State Rep. Wendy McNamara (R-Evansville) represents House District 76, 
which includes portions of Posey and Vanderburgh counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Matt Hostettler (R-Fort Branch) represents House District 64,
which includes Gibson County and portions of Knox, Pike, Vanderburgh and Posey counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.