Over $1.1M to fuel Monroe County road projects

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Friday, October 11, 2019

STATEHOUSE (Oct. 11, 2019) – Monroe County and the city of Bloomington will receive over $1.1 million in state matching grants to accelerate road and bridge improvements, according to area legislators.

Nearly $100 million was awarded to Indiana cities, towns and counties through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which is now in its fourth year. Bloomington received $591,798 and Monroe County was awarded $508,628. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law passed in 2016, and funded through the state budget.

“Transportation infrastructure is a critical component to ensuring Indiana remains a desirable place to live and do business,” said State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington). “The Community Crossings program is vital to maintaining our state’s roads and bridges as our communities continue boosting economic development and quality of life.”

State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

“Indiana enjoys all the seasons, but they can also can wreak havoc on our transportation channels,” Heaton said. “It is important that we wisely invest in our highways and bridges so that they can remain safe and functioning.”

“So many of our public roads are in rural areas,” said State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford). “Preserving our local infrastructure saves everyone time and money, and makes all of us safer.”

Since 2017, state road investment is up 50% as Indiana has dedicated $3 billion to road and bridge projects across the state.

“Infrastructure that is in poor condition can have a profoundly negative impact on Hoosiers’ lives,” said State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville). “This investment is critical for improving our quality of life and creating an environment for businesses to thrive.”

More information about the program and recipients can be found at www.in.gov/indot.


State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo. 

State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) represents House District 46,
which includes portions of Clay, Monroe, Owen and Vigo counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of
Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,
which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.
She is the assistant majority floor leader and serves on the 
House Ways and Means, Public Policy and Insurance committees.
Click here for a high-resolution photo.