Orange County lawmakers receive committee assignments

Posted by: Jordan Wallace  | Thursday, December 17, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 16, 2020) – State Reps. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty) and Steve Davisson (R-Salem) were recently appointed to several House standing committees.

Bartels was named assistant majority whip. He was also reappointed to serve as a member of the House Courts and Criminal Code Committee, and House Veterans Affairs and Public Safety Committee, and newly appointed to the House Public Policy Committee.

"It's an honor the Speaker of the House asked me to serve as the new assistant majority whip," Bartels said. "I will definitely lean on my background as a former law enforcement officer and as a veteran to help me on these committees and tackle issues important to our area."

Davisson was appointed to serve as vice chair of the House Public Health Committee, and will once again serve as a member of the House Commerce, Small Business and Economic Development Committee. He was also newly appointed to serve on the House Agriculture and Rural Development Committee.

"The committee process allows legislators to use their knowledge about a particular subject matter to help fully vet a bill before it is considered by the full House of Representatives," Davisson said. "Whether it is addressing public health issues or the small-business owners' concerns, legislators can discuss proposals, and hear from the public and industry experts on what policies make sense for Indiana."

House standing committees will meet throughout the legislative session, which is scheduled to kick off Jan. 4.

Access committee hearings, calendars and agendas online at Visit or click here for the full list of House standing committee appointments.


State Rep. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty) represents House District 74,
which includes portions of Spencer, Dubois, Perry, Crawford and Orange counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) represents House District 73, which includes
Washington County, and portions of Jackson, Lawrence, Orange, Clark and Harrison counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.