Orange County lawmakers announce local students receive $7,500 teaching scholarships

Posted by: Randy Speith and Jordan Wallace  | Thursday, April 23, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 23, 2020) — Several area students pursuing a career in education recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) and Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation Davisson supported.

"Teachers are important leaders in our schools and communities," Davisson said. "They have an influential role in shaping and preparing students, and this scholarship keeps some of the brightest and best upcoming educators here in our state."

According to Bartels, the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

"Our teachers are the very best of our state," Bartels said. "This scholarship fund supports future educators, like Kinley, Charleigh and Addison, by alleviating some of the financial burdens of college so they can focus on sharing their passion of learning with our students."

 More than 350 students applied, with several scholarships recently awarded to students in Orange County:

  • Kinley Block, Paoli Jr/Sr High School, Ball State University;
  • Charleigh Land, Springs Valley Community High School, University of Southern Indiana; and
  • Addison Stailey, Springs Valley Community High School, Indiana University Bloomington.

Recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000.

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit for more information.



State Rep. Stephen Bartels (R-Eckerty) represents House District 74,
which includes portions of Spencer, Dubois, Perry, Crawford and Orange counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Steve Davisson (R-Salem) represents House District 73, which includes
Washington County, and portions of Jackson, Lawrence, Orange, Clark and Harrison counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.