Olympic medalist, Lilly King, honored at Statehouse by local legislators

Posted by: Hannah Carlock  | Tuesday, January 24, 2017 4:25 pm

STATEHOUSE (Jan. 24, 2017) – State lawmakers honored local Olympic gold medalist, Lilly King, with a House Concurrent Resolution today at the Statehouse.

State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) and Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) co-authored a measure recognizing King for competing in the 100 meter breaststroke, setting a new Olympic record, and the 4 x 100 meter relay in the 2016 Summer Olympics, where she won gold medals in each competition.

“Lilly sets a great example for our Hoosier state, not only as an exceptional athlete but an all-around remarkable individual,” Mayfield said. “I want to congratulate Lilly and the other 16 IU Olympians for representing not only Indiana University, but the great state of Indiana, in Rio. I know that Lilly will accomplish great things in her future. I look forward to watching her grow as an athlete and a person.”

King, a lifelong resident of Evansville, currently attends Indiana University where she competes for the Hoosiers’ swimming and diving team. She acquired a number of awards and accolades during her freshman year at IU, including the NCAA Champion in the 100 and 200 meter breaststroke, the Big Ten Swimmer of the year and earned four All-American honors.

“I was able to meet Lilly King and several other medalists at the Hall of Champions,” Ellington said. “She is a remarkable person and we are so blessed to have her in Bloomington at IU. Congratulations to her on her accomplishments.”

During her freshman year, King competed in the NCAA finals and was crowned the NCAA champion in the 100 meter breaststroke and 200 meter breaststroke.

King was named the 2016 NCAA female swimmer of the year and received the USA swimming’s Golden Goggle Award for Breakout Performer of the Year.


Note to the Editor: Below is a picture of State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) (pictured far right) with Olympic medalist Lilly King and her family. 

State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60, which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties and is the Asst. Majority Floor Leader. She serves as a member of Ways and Means, Insurance and Public Policy committees. 

A high-resolution photo of Mayfield can be downloaded by clicking here.



Rep. Jeff Ellington represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.

A high-resolution photo of Ellington can be downloaded by clicking here.