Olthoff: Local students receive first-ever educator scholarship

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Thursday, May 18, 2017

STATEHOUSE (May 18, 2017) — Local students planning to pursue a career in education are among the recipients of this year’s Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship, according to State Rep. Julie Olthoff (R-Crown Point).

Olthoff supported legislation creating this scholarship program last year to help incentivize top-performing students to pursue a career teaching in Hoosier classrooms. 

“This scholarship program is an investment in the future of Indiana,” Olthoff said. “Congratulations to these high-achieving students who will start their teaching careers right here in the Hoosier state. Keeping our best and brightest close to home will help ensure a quality education for the next generation.”

According to Olthoff, the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship pays $7,500 per year for up to four years to students who obtain their teaching license and commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. The scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their class or earn a score in the top 20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

Over 600 students applied, and 200 scholarships were awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Lake and Porter counties:

Lake County

  • Emily Crouch, Lowell Senior High School, Indiana State University
  • Jaycee Hopper, Crown Point High School, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Sophie Nonos, Crown Point High School, Indiana University Northwest
  • Theresa Ross, Highland High School, Calumet College of Saint Joseph

Porter County

  • Emma Havrilla, Portage High School, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Carson Krutz, Valparaiso High School, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Rachel Pauer, Hebron High School, Purdue University Northwest

“The Commission wants to congratulate all 200 of the students who were chosen to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educator Scholarship,” Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers said. “We were encouraged by the high-quality applicants and know these future teachers will have a positive impact in Indiana classroom.”

The 2018-2019 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit www.LearnMoreIndiana.org/nextteacher for more information.


State Rep. Julie Olthoff represents House District 19,

which includes a portions of Lake and Porter counties.


A high-resolution photo of Olthoff can be downloaded by clicking here.