Morrison: Indiana State University commemorated at Statehouse

Posted by: Jessica Baker  | Tuesday, February 3, 2015

STATEHOUSE – Indiana State University (ISU) was commemorated at the Statehouse yesterday for their 150th anniversary. State Representatives Bruce Borders (R-Jasonville), Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) and Alan Morrison (R-Terre Haute) co-authored a resolution honoring the university.

“Indiana State has provided a tremendous benefit to folks in the Wabash Valley for the past 150 years,” said Rep. Borders. “We’re blessed to have such a dynamic higher education institution right in our own backyard. I wish them the best for the next 150 years.”

ISU was founded in 1865 as the Indiana State Normal School. The name of the university changed two more times until 1965, when it officially became known as ISU. The university has continued to improve and evolve throughout the years, and now offers more than 100 majors, has a 20:1 student-faculty ratio and has over 95,000 living alumni.

“Some of my best memories are from my time playing basketball with the Sycamores alongside Larry Bird,” said Rep. Heaton. “Indiana State University will always remain close to my heart. I’m very thankful for everything the university contributes to the Wabash Valley area and am proud to be a Sycamore.”

In 2014, ISU earned the ranking as the best college in the nation for community service, according to Washington Monthly. The university has been highly recognized for academics and continues to be a top choice for many students.

“Indiana State University not only provides students with an outstanding education but also offers many hands-on learning opportunities and the chance to get involved in the community,” said Rep. Morrison. “ISU has played an integral part in my life, and I am honored to commemorate its founding here at the Statehouse and to call myself a Sycamore.”


Rep. Morrison represents all of Vermillion County and portions of Clay, Fountain, Parke, Vigo and Warren counties.

Rep. Borders represents all of Sullivan County and portions of Vigo, Greene, Knox and Daviess counties.

Rep. Heaton represents portions of Clay, Monroe, Owen and Vigo counties.