Morgan County lawmakers: State awards over $1.4M to help drive local road projects

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Samantha Holifield  | Monday, May 3, 2021

STATEHOUSE (May 3, 2020) – Indiana recently awarded more than $1.4 million in state matching grants to local communities for road and bridge improvements, according to Morgan County legislators.

Through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, 218 Hoosier cities, towns and counties received a combined total of over $100 million. This program was established in 2016 and expanded a year later in 2017 through laws supported by State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville). The Indiana Department of Transportation oversees and distributes these grants twice each year.

"We continue to invest in making Indiana a great place to live and visit," said Mayfield, a member of the House Ways and Means Committee. "Prioritizing our roads and bridges keeps us on the right path and helps attract new residents and job creators."

Morgan County received $1 million and Martinsville received $467,550 for local road and bridge projects.

State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle), also a member of the House Ways and Means Committee, said communities can use these funds for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"Many of our smaller towns would struggle to fund and finish critical projects without these grants," Baird said. "Everyone working together helps ensure our roads and bridges are kept in good condition."

State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin), said more than $931 million in total has been awarded throughout the state since 2016. State law requires that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded annually to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer.

"Indiana is a strong position to continue investing in all our local communities," Young said. "When we developed our road funding plan, we took steps to ensure Hoosiers across the state would reap the benefits. Guidelines are in place so both small and large cities and towns can take advantage of this program."

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at The next call for projects through Community Crossings will open in July 2021.


State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,
which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.
Click here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) represents House District 44, which includes
all of Putnam County and portions of Clay, Morgan, Owen and Parke counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,
which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.