Morgan County communities awarded $2.2 million for road projects

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall and Samantha Holifield  | Friday, December 11, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 11, 2020) – Local communities recently received more than $2.2 million in state matching grants for road and bridge improvements, according to Morgan County lawmakers.  

Over 240 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of more than $101 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which was expanded through a 2017 law supported by State Reps. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) and John Young (R-Franklin). Grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation.

"Strong infrastructure is vital to continued economic growth in our communities, and helping Hoosiers and visitors stay safe as they travel," Mayfield said. "Community Crossings grants support important road and bridge maintenance and improvements by combining local and state funding."

Morgan County received $911,086 for local road and bridge projects. In addition, Martinsville received $341,620 and Mooresville received $999,999 in matching grants.

State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) said this funding can be used for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"Infrastructure maintenance and improvements can often consume a large portion of local budgets," Baird said. "With this partnership, we're able to fund critical repairs and development throughout our area, without communities having to choose between road projects and covering other public services."

In total, Young said more than $830 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

"Local roadways connect families, friends, visitors and workers to our communities," Young said. "Updating our roads and bridges drives our economy and helps keeps everyone on our roads safer. These grants will help our area complete important road projects and bring additional jobs to Morgan County."

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at


State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,
which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.
Click here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Beau Baird (R-Greencastle) represents House District 44, which includes
all of Putnam County and portions of Clay, Morgan, Owen and Parke counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,
which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.