Monroe County students receive future educator scholarship

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Thursday, May 16, 2019

STATEHOUSE (May 16, 2019) – Aspiring teachers from Monroe County were recently selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to local lawmakers.

State Reps. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington), Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) and Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) supported legislation in 2016 creating the scholarship program.

“To ensure Indiana’s schools are filled with highly effective teachers, these scholarships provide financial support to the best and brightest students who want to enter the field,” Ellington said. “Congratulations to these aspiring educators who will inspire the next generation of Hoosier children.”

Heaton said top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years are eligible to receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“So many talented students leave the state to begin their careers,” Heaton said. “Next Generation Hoosier Educators scholars agree to work in Indiana after graduation, keeping their skills and talents in our state’s classrooms.”

According to Mayfield, the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class, or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

“Earning this scholarship is a great accomplishment these students should be proud of,” Mayfield said. “I wish them the best, and thank them for helping us make Indiana’s schools even better moving forward.”

Nearly 400 students applied this year, and 200 scholarships were awarded to students across the state, including these recipients from Monroe County:

  • Carson Conrad, Bloomington High School South, Indiana University;
  • Claudia Koontz, Edgewood High School, Ball State University; and
  • Lynn Teter, Bloomington High School North, Ball State University.

“I am committed to improving education Indiana,” said State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford). “We need enthusiastic educators in our classrooms. This program will encourage our high quality students to not only stay in Indiana to work, but also to enter the teaching profession.”

“We are encouraged to see so many driven and prepared students applying for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes

portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) represents House District 46,

which includes portions of Clay, Monroe, Owen and Vigo counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of

Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,

which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.

She is the assistant majority floor leader and serves on the

House Ways and Means, Public Policy and Insurance committees.

Click here for a high-resolution photo.