Monroe County lawmakers: State awards over $1.1M to boost local road projects

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Thursday, April 9, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 9, 2020) – Monroe County lawmakers announced local communities were recently awarded over $1.1 million in state matching grants to bolster road and bridge improvements.

According to State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington), over 200 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of $126.5 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program. The grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation as a result of a law passed in 2017.

"These grants will be a tremendous help to Monroe County and our local cities and towns in maintaining roadways," Ellington said. "Quality roads and bridges are the bedrock for any town."

Monroe County received $415,720 for local road projects. In addition, Bloomington and Ellettsville received matching grants of $382,075 and $357,154 respectively. 

State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) said grant funding can be used toward road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a match of 25% in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

"Community Crossings has brought funding to counties and towns all across Indiana," Heaton said. "They bring needed improvements and are a boon to local economies."

According to State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville), more than $738 million in total has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer.

"Small communities are the heart and soul of Indiana, and need adequate infrastructure to maintain their character and quality of life," Mayfield said. "That is why the Community Crossings program was specifically designed to reserve a portion of the funds with a more generous matching formula for smaller communities."

An estimated $100 million will be available for communities opting to apply for these grants during the July 2020 call for projects. More information about the program and recipients can be found at


State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) represents House District 46,
which includes portions of Clay, Monroe, Owen and Vigo counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,
which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.
She is the assistant majority floor leader and serves on the
House Ways and Means, Public Policy and Insurance committees.
Click here for a high-resolution photo.