Monroe County, Bloomington awarded over $808K for road projects

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Tuesday, December 15, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 15, 2020) – Monroe County and Bloomington recently received more than $808,000 in state matching grants for road and bridge improvements, according to Monroe County lawmakers.  

Over 240 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of more than $101 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which was created through a 2016 law supported by State Reps. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington), Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) and Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute). Grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation.

"Our state is committed to ensuring we have the infrastructure in place for people to safely drive and for businesses to efficiently reach customers," Ellington said. "This program is a major reason why Indiana is ranked among the best for our transportation network."

Monroe County received $616,829 and Bloomington received $191,326 for local road and bridge projects.

Mayfield said this funding can be used for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25 percent match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50 percent match.

"Strong infrastructure is vital to continued economic growth in our communities, and helping Hoosiers and visitors stay safe as they travel," Mayfield said. "Community Crossings grants support important road and bridge maintenance and improvements by combining local and state funding."

In total, Heaton said more than $830 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50 percent of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer. 

"Preserving our roads and bridges is important to carry on Indiana's reputation as the Crossroads of America," Heaton said. "Because of the substantial costs involved, many local towns and counties could fall behind on critical projects without the support of this state program."

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at


State Rep. Jeff Ellington (R-Bloomington) represents House District 62, which includes
portions of Greene, Monroe, Martin and Daviess counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,
which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.
Click here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Bob Heaton (R-Terre Haute) represents House District 46,
which includes portions of Clay, Monroe, Owen and Vigo counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.