Mayfield, Young announce local students receive $7,500 teaching scholarships

Posted by: Wade Coggeshall  | Wednesday, April 29, 2020

STATEHOUSE (April 29, 2020) – Mooresville High School student Madison Carter and Tabernacle Christian School student Elizabeth Parker recently received the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Reps. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) and John Young (R-Franklin).

The statewide program awards scholarships to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for at least five years. Recipients receive $7,500 per year for up to four years of college to obtain a teaching license. The program began in 2017 thanks to legislation supported by Mayfield.

"Teaching is one of the most important jobs when it comes to preparing our future leaders and innovators," Mayfield said. "This scholarship ensures some of our best are guiding Hoosier students for years to come."

According to Young, the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20% of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

"Educators are critical to the development of our young Hoosiers," Young said. "Apart from parents, they teach students important skills and life lessons that will assist them. Our classrooms will benefit greatly from these aspiring teachers."

Carter and Parker were among more than 350 students who applied statewide. Carter plans on attending Bethel University and Parker is enrolled at Trine University.

Recipients must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year in order to continue receiving the four-year renewable scholarship totaling $30,000. 

“Congratulations to all 200 students, who are on their way to becoming impactful, future Hoosier teachers,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We know these students have the passion and determination to make a difference in classrooms across the state.” 

The 2020-2021 application will be available in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60,
which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties.
She is the assistant majority floor leader and serves on the
House Ways and Means, Public Policy and Insurance committees.
Click here for a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. John Young (R-Franklin) represents House District 47,
which includes portions of Johnson and Morgan counties.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.