Mayfield recognizes local radio station owner

Posted by: Hannah Carlock  | Monday, April 3, 2017 6:15 pm

STATEHOUSE (April 3, 2017)  State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) today at the Statehouse honored local radio professional, Dave Keister, with a House resolution.


Keister started WCBK in Martinsville on April 18, 1967. Mayfield said the station became a success throughout its 50 years of operations, has provided local sports and news coverage. Keister, as president of Mid-America Group, now owns 10 stations in Indiana, including those in Wabash, Bedford and Bloomington.

“Keister sets a great example for broadcasters across Indiana,” Mayfield said. “For 50 years, he has promoted community service through his radio stations, as he believes the success of the radio station depends on the success of the area.”

According to Mayfield, in 2012 the Indiana Broadcasters Association inducted David Keister into the Pioneer Hall of Fame for his more than 50 years of service. He has earned the Lifetime Achievement Award, which is the highest and most prestigious award given by the Indiana Broadcasters Association.


State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60, which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties and is the Asst. Majority Floor Leader. She serves as a member of Ways and Means, Insurance and Public Policy committees.

NOTE TO THE EDITOR: Attached and below is a picture of State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) (second from the left) with Dave Keister (center) and his family on the House floor to present a resolution honoring Keister for his 50 years of spreading the local news on-air.