Mayfield receives National Guard Presidentís Award

Posted by: Hannah Carlock  | Wednesday, April 27, 2016 3:00 pm

Mayfield receives National Guard President’s Award

STATEHOUSE (April 27, 2016) – The National Guard Association of Indiana (NGAI) recently presented State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) the President’s Award, recognizing her work on behalf of members of the military.

“Our veterans, active duty members and military families make many sacrifices serving our nation,” Mayfield said. “As a policymaker, I will continue working on their behalf and do my best to give back to those who have given so much of themselves.”

The President’s Award recognizes any individual who, as a civilian or member of the Armed Forces, performed exceptionally outstanding service to the United States, Armed Forces or NGAI.

At the awards ceremony in French Lick, Lt. Gov. Eric Holcomb presented a proclamation declaring July 1-8 Hoosier Veterans Week. He highlighted a new law authored by Mayfield increasing access to programs benefiting veterans by including the military service of those who did not meet federal criteria.

This new law goes into effect July 1, 2016, and helps guard members receive assistance from local veteran service officers and qualifies them for state programs, veterans’ employment preferences, veteran-owned business opportunities and future legislation concerning veterans.


Rep. Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents portions of Morgan and Monroe counties and is the Asst. Majority Floor Leader. She serves as a member of Ways and Means and Insurance committees.

NOTE TO THE EDITOR: State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) holds her President’s Award alongside members of the NGAI at the ceremony held in French Lick. Pictured Left to Right: NGAI Executive Director Mike Sturm, President Lt. Col. Shawn Gardner, Adjutant Gen. Courtney Carr, State Rep. Peggy Mayfield, National Guard Bureau Vice Chief Lt. Gen. Joseph Lengyel and Mr. Charlie Hiltunen.