Mayfield: Morgan County to become full-voting member on Indianapolis Airport Authority board

Mayfield: Morgan County to become full-voting member on Indianapolis Airport Authority board

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Tuesday, June 5, 2018 10:11 am

STATEHOUSE (June 5, 2018) — Starting in July, Morgan County will be fully represented on the Indianapolis Airport Authority board thanks to legislation authored by State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville).

Under this new law, ceremonially signed by Gov. Eric Holcomb on Monday, Morgan County will have a full voice and vote during Indianapolis Airport Authority board meetings. Currently, the member representing Morgan County is limited to a non-voting advisory role.

“It’s important for Morgan County to have a seat at the table,” Mayfield said. “The Indianapolis Airport is entering another exciting chapter in its proud history of serving central Indiana. Just a few weeks ago we added a new direct flight to Paris. While this is great news for our state, our community is being impacted by added vehicle traffic and noise pollution. As a full-voting member, Morgan County will now be able to actively participate in the decision-making process and ensure our residents’ concerns are heard.”

According to Mayfield, the noise of flyovers, traffic congestion and environmental factors from the airport impact Morgan County. With the Indianapolis International Airport attracting more domestic and international flights, as well as air cargo, Mayfield said Morgan County needs to be able to contribute to board discussions concerning regional economic development and planning.

The Weir Cook Terminal accommodated 8.7 million passengers last year, according to the Indianapolis Airport Authority. Averaging 145 daily departures, the airport serves 51 nonstop domestic and international destinations.

On July 1, Lynn Gordon, the advisory member currently representing Morgan County, will become a full voting member.


State Rep. Peggy Mayfield (R-Martinsville) represents House District 60, which includes portions of Morgan and Monroe counties and is the Assistant Majority Floor Leader.

PICTURED: Gov. Eric Holcomb signs State Rep. Peggy Mayfield’s (R-Martinsville) bill into law establishing Morgan County as a full-voting member on the Indianapolis Airport Authority board at the Statehouse in Indianapolis on Monday, June 4, 2018. Currently, Lynn Gordon, the board member representing Morgan County, is limited to a non-voting advisory role. Pictured left to right (seated): State Sen. Rodric Bray (R-Martinsville), Holcomb and Mayfield. Pictured left to right (standing): Gordon, Executive Director of the Morgan County Economic Development Corp. Mike Dellinger, Manager of Crawfordsville Municipal Airport Lori Curless, Mooresville Town Council Member Mark Mathis, Secretary of the Indianapolis Airport Authority board Alfred Bennett, Morgan County Commissioner Ryan Goodwin and Bart Giesler with Aviation Indiana.