May: Purple Heart recipient named Golden Hoosier

May: Purple Heart recipient named Golden Hoosier

Frederick Taylor Jr. recognized for service to the community

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Friday, June 22, 2018

STATEHOUSE (June 22, 2018) — Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch presented a Golden Hoosier Award to Frederick Taylor Jr., of Bloomington at the Statehouse Thursday for his service and commitment to the community, according to State Sen. Eric Koch (R-Bedford) and State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford).

“It makes me so proud to see our state recognize a great man like Frederick Taylor, Jr. with a Golden Hoosier Award,” Koch said. “His service to Indiana and other states is unmatched when it comes to selflessly helping his fellow veterans. Taylor, a recipient of the Sagamore of the Wabash, has also gone above and beyond in other states, earning the recognition of Kentucky Colonel and Tennessee Colonel and receiving the Florida Veteran’s Medal.”

A Purple Heart recipient, Taylor has volunteered more than 10,000 hours serving veterans and their families both in Indiana and nationally. He spends his time working at VA hospitals and other veteran organizations such as the American Legion, Military Order of the Purple Heart, Combat Infantrymen’s Association and more. He has been inducted into the Indiana Military Veterans Hall of Fame and given the Indiana University Alumnus of the Year Award.  

“Frederick is a true patriot, but those words do not encompass the totality of his lifetime of service to our community,” May said. “He has dedicated his time and talents to his fellow veterans and their families around the state and across the country. He deserves this designation as a Golden Hoosier for his selfless and enduring commitment to the military men and women who have served our great nation.”

The lieutenant governor’s office accepts nominations each year for the Golden Hoosier Awards. The award recognizes outstanding Hoosiers for their lifetime of service to their communities, and is the highest honor bestowed on those in Indiana who are at least 65 years old.


State Sen. Eric Koch (R-Bedford) represents Senate District 44, which includes portions of Bartholomew, Brown, Jackson, Lawrence and Monroe counties.

A high-resolution photo of Koch can be downloaded by clicking here.

State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.

A high-resolution photo of May can be downloaded by clicking here.


PHOTO CAPTION: Lt. Gov. Suzanne Crouch presents a Golden Hoosier award on Thursday, June 21, 2018, to Frederick Taylor Jr. of Bloomington with the help of the Indiana Family and Social Services Administration Secretary Dr. Jennifer Walthall. Taylor was nominated by Zachary Taylor and received the award at the Statehouse in Indianapolis.