May: Local student named to Governorís STEM Team

May: Local student named to Governorís STEM Team

Posted by: Brenda Holmes  | Wednesday, May 30, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 30, 2018) — Brown County High School senior Abraham Oliver has been named to the 2018 Governor’s STEM Team, according to State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford).

May said Oliver is 1 of 4 high school students selected for their work in science, technology, engineering or math. Oliver is the technology winner and will receive a $1,000 college scholarship through Indiana’s CollegeChoice 529 Direct Savings Plan and a letterman jacket identifying him as a member of the Gov. Eric Holcomb’s STEM Team.

“It’s exciting to see a student from our community stand out among his peers,” May said. “Abraham has gone above and beyond what was expected of him and put his knowledge into action, and I applaud him for his hard work and dedication.”

As the technology winner, Oliver demonstrated a particular interest in computer science and programming. He develops custom machine learning systems in his work with Communicode and the Indiana University Computer Vision Lab. He presented his research on the Google Deepmind AlphaZero algorithm to the 2018 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair.

Oliver plans to attend Stanford University in the fall to study computer science and math. His future plans include becoming a computer science researcher and utilizing technology in policy.

Holcomb on Tuesday at the Statehouse honored Oliver and science winner John Dalloul, a senior at Terre Haute South Vigo High School; engineering winner Megan Singer, a senior at Carmel High School; and math winner Trevor Vogel, a senior at Jennings County High School.

Students were nominated for the Governor’s STEM Team earlier this year, and a panel of STEM professionals, teachers, and university representatives evaluated more than 100 applications to select the winners based on academic performance, work in research, leadership, community service and extracurricular involvement.


State Rep. Chris May (R-Bedford) represents House District 65, which includes all of Brown County, most of Lawrence County and parts of Monroe, Jackson and Johnson counties.



PHOTO CAPTION: STEM Team technology winner Abraham Oliver, a senior at Brown County High School, is introduced by Gov. Eric Holcomb during a special presentation at the Statehouse on Tuesday, May 29, 2018. Oliver received a personalized letter jacket from the governor and a $1,000 scholarship through Indiana’s CollegeChoice 529 Direct Savings Plan.