Marion County students receive future educator scholarship

Posted by: Samantha Holifield  | Monday, May 13, 2019 9:28 am

STATEHOUSE (May 13, 2019) – Aspiring teachers from Marion County were recently selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to local lawmakers. 

State Reps. Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis), Cindy Kirchhofer (R-Beech Grove) and Mike Speedy (R-Indianapolis) supported legislation in 2016 creating the scholarship program. Behning said top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years are eligible to receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“Teachers are an integral part of our local schools and communities,” said Behning, chair of the House Education Committee. “In order to prepare students to succeed in life after school, we need highly qualified individuals leading Hoosier classrooms. This scholarship will help many students achieve their dream of becoming an educator.”

According to Kirchhofer, the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class, or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT.

“Outside of parents, teachers are one of the most important factors in a student’s success,” Kirchhofer said. “These aspiring educators are on a path to make a real difference in Indiana and inspire the next generation of Hoosiers. I look forward to seeing them succeed in this rewarding career.”

“These future teachers are some of the best and brightest in the state,” Speedy said. “Talented teachers are instrumental in keeping Indiana moving forward. This scholarship will help grow our already great teaching profession and invest in our students and schools.”

Nearly 400 students applied this year, and 200 scholarships were awarded to students across the state, including these recipients from Marion County:

  • Andrew Clegg, Scecina Memorial High School, Hanover College;
  • Summer Cress, Franklin Central High School, Marian University;
  • Mamie DeFreese, Scecina Memorial High School, Marian University;
  • Stephanie Gerrish, Perry Meridian High School, University of Indianapolis;
  • Megan Hernly, Ben Davis High School, Purdue University West Lafayette;
  • Taryn Locke, Lawrence North High School, University of Indianapolis;
  • Anna Long, Speedway Senior High School, Indiana University Bloomington;
  • Alec Newman, Ben Davis High School, Butler University;
  • Cameron Reagan, Covenant Christian High School, Undecided;
  • Sian Rhodes, Bishop Chatard High School, Ball State University;
  • Walter Toebes, Herron High School, Ball State University; and
  • Sierra Williams, Franklin Central High School, Ball State University.

“We are encouraged to see so many driven and prepared students applying for the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers. “We look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana.”

The 2020-2021 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Bob Behning (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 91,

which includes portions of Hendricks and Marion counties.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo. 


State Rep. Cindy Kirchhofer (R-Beech Grove) represents House District 89,

which includes portions of Marion County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.


State Rep. Mike Speedy (R-Indianapolis) represents House District 90,

which includes portions of Marion County.

Click here to download a high-resolution photo.