Lucas, Payne: Local communities receive more than $1 million for road projects

Posted by: Abrahm Hurt  | Wednesday, December 16, 2020

STATEHOUSE (Dec. 16, 2020) – Jefferson County communities recently received more than $1 million in state matching grants for road and bridge improvements, according to State Reps. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour) and Zach Payne (R-Charlestown).  

Over 240 Indiana cities, towns and counties received a combined total of more than $101 million through the Community Crossings Matching Grant program, which was created through a 2016 law supported by Lucas. Grants are made available through the Indiana Department of Transportation.

"Investing in infrastructure is critical to ensuring our rural communities can compete in today's economy," Lucas said. "Hoosiers need to be able to travel safely, and businesses require quality roads to transport goods and services, and connect with consumers and employees."

Jefferson County received $1 million for local road and bridge projects. In addition, Hanover received $332,297 and Madison was awarded $343,032.

"Building up local infrastructure is key for supporting business growth and jobs in our communities," Payne said. "Taking care of our roads makes Hoosiers safer and our state more appealing for job creators and visitors."

Payne said this funding can be used for road and bridge preservation, road reconstruction, intersection improvements, guardrail replacements and signage. Smaller municipalities must provide a 25% match in local funds, while large communities must provide a 50% match.

In total, more than $830 million has been distributed for local road projects through the Community Crossings program. State law requires annually that 50% of the available matching funds be awarded to communities within counties with a population of 50,000 or fewer.

More information about the program and recipients can be found online at 


 State Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour) represents House District 69, which includes
portions of Bartholomew, Jackson, Jennings and Jefferson counties.
here to download a high-resolution photo.

State Rep. Zach Payne (R-Charlestown) represents House District 66, which includes
all of Scott County, most of Jefferson County and northeastern Clark County.
Click here to download a high-resolution photo.