Lucas: Future educator scholarship awarded to local students

Posted by: Abigail Campbell  | Wednesday, May 2, 2018

STATEHOUSE (May 2, 2018) — Several students in Bartholomew and Jackson counties planning to pursue a career in education were selected to receive the Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship, according to State Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour).

Lucas, who supported legislation creating this scholarship program, said the scholarship is awarded to top-performing students who commit to teaching in Indiana for five consecutive years. Recipients will receive $7,500 per year for up to four years to obtain a teaching license.

“This scholarship puts exceptional young Hoosiers in the position to succeed as they begin their teaching career,” Lucas said. “It is so important to keep bright minds in our state. I encourage everyone looking to pursue a career in teaching to take advantage of this great opportunity.”

The Next Generation Hoosier Educators Scholarship is available to 200 high-achieving high school and college students each year who either graduate in the top 20 percent of their high school class or earn a score in the top-20th percentile on the SAT or ACT. Lucas said in order for students to continue receiving the scholarship in college, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative GPA and complete at least 30 credit hours per year.

More than 500 students applied, and 200 scholarships were recently awarded to highly qualified students across the state, including these recipients from Bartholomew and Jackson counties:

Bartholomew County

  • Grace Bowling, Columbus East High School, Indiana University Purdue University-Columbus;
  • Tiffany Collins, Columbus East High School, Vincennes University;
  • Whitley Eicher, Columbus East High School, Indiana Wesleyan University;

Jackson County

  • Madison Jones, Brownstown Central High School, Indiana University-Southeast; and
  • Chloe Smith, Seymour Senior High School, Indiana University Purdue University-Columbus.

“We’re encouraged to have so many driven, passionate students applying for this teacher scholarship, and we look forward to the positive impact they will have in classrooms and school communities across Indiana,” said Indiana Commissioner for Higher Education Teresa Lubbers.

The 2019-2020 application will be available beginning in the fall. Visit for more information.


State Rep. Jim Lucas (R-Seymour) represents House District 69, which includes

portions of Bartholomew, Jackson, Jennings and Jefferson counties.

A high-resolution photo of Lucas can be downloaded by clicking here.